57th National Film Awards: List of winners


Bollywood legend Amitabh Bachchan was declared as the best actor for his role of a child suffering with progeria in the film ‘Paa’. This is the third national award for Amitabh. Bengali actress Ananya Chaterjee won the Best Actress award for ‘Abohoman’.

Maestro Ilaiyaraja has won the Best Background Score Award for ‘Pazhassi Raja’.

Other awards are as follows –

Best Film – Kutty Shrank (Malayalam)

Best Director – Rituparno Ghosh for ‘Abohoman’ (Bengali)

Best Supporting Actress – Arundhati Nag for ‘Paa’

Best Supporting Actor – Farooq Sheikh for ‘Lahore’

Best Popular Film, Best Director and Best Producer – 3 Idiots, Rajkumar Hirani and Vidhu Vinod Chopra

Best Film on Social Issues – Shyam Benegal’s ‘Well Done Abba’

Best Film on National Integration – Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra’s ‘Dilli-6’

Best Camerawork: Anjali Shukla

Best Music Director: Amit Trivedi for ‘Dev D’

Best Playback singer (Male): Rupam Islam

Best Playback singer (Female): Niranjana Sarkar (Housefull)

Best Sound Engineer: Oscar winner Resul Pookutty

Best Lyrics: Swananad Kirkirey for ‘3 Idiots’

Best Choreography: K Shivashankar for film ‘Magadhira’ (Telugu)

Best Children Film: Ottani Pati and Kesu

Best Child Actor Award: Jiva and Anbukarasu – Pasanga (Tamil)